Dabar populiaru
Published: 21 november 2012 08:37

Lithuanian parliament approves committee line-ups

Seimo posėdis
Juliaus Kalinsko / 15min nuotr. / Seimas

Lithuania's new parliament approved line-ups of 15 parliamentary committees. Chairmen of the parliamentary panels are yet to be appointed officially.

In the discussion of committees, the Homeland Union – Lithuanian Christian Democrats (conservatives) had questions about the designation of Vitalija Vonzutaitė of the Labour Party to the Budget and Finance Committee. Conservative MP Arvydas Anušauskas expressed doubt whether a person with no experience in the area and on trial for financial fraud could be part of such an important parliamentary body.

According to preliminary information, the Environment Committee may be headed by Social Democratic MP Algimantas Salamakinas, the Audit Committee by Jolita Vaickienė of the Order and Justice Party, the Budget and Finance Committee by Social Democratic MP Bronius Bradauskas, the Economic Committee by Julius Veselka of the Order and Justice party, the European Affairs Committee by Social Democratic MP Gediminas Kirkilas, the Information Society Development Committee by Social Democratic MP Mindaugas Bastys, the Rural Affairs Committee by Saulius Bucevičius of the Labour Party, the Social Affairs and Labor Committee by Social Democratic MP Kristina Miškinienė, the Health Affairs Committee by Dangutė Mikutienė of the Labour Party, the Education, Science and Culture Committee by Audronė Pitrėnienė of the Labour Party, the Legal Affairs Committee by Artūras Paulauskas of the Labour Party, the Foreign Affairs Committee by Social Democratic MP Benediktas Juodka, the State Governance and Municipalities Committee by Valentinas Bukauskas of the Labour Party, and the Human Rights Committee by Leonardas Talmontas of the Electoral Action of Poles in Lithuania.

Among candidates to chair the National Security and Defense Committee are Social Democrats Julius Sabatauskas and Juozas Bernatonis. One of them should become the justice minister, while the other should be appointed as the head of the committee.

Under the Seimas statute, committee chairs are elected by members of the committees and approved by entire parliament.

Naujienų agentūros BNS informaciją atgaminti visuomenės informavimo priemonėse bei interneto tinklalapiuose be raštiško UAB „BNS“ sutikimo draudžiama.
Pažymėkite klaidą tekste pele, prispaudę kairijį pelės klavišą
Report mistake

Report mistake

Successfully sent

Thank you


Žiemos olimpinės žaidynės